Home » Khajuraho


The Khajuraho Group of Monuments is a group of Hindu and Jain temples, about 175 kilometres of Jhansi (109 mi) southeast. They are one of the best sites declared as world heritage by UNESCO in India. The temples are very popular for their nagara-style architecture and their erotic sculptures.

Most Khajuraho temples were constructed between 950 and 1050 by the Chandela dynasty. The Khajuraho temple site had 85 temples spread over 20 square kilometers by 12th century, historical records note that. Of these, but only about 20 temples have survived, spread over 6 square kilometers at present. Of the various surviving temples, the Kandariya Mahadeva Temple is decorated with a plenty of sculptures with involute description, symbolism and expressiveness of primitive Indian art.

The Khajuraho temples group were built together but were dedicated to two religions—namely Hinduism and Jainism.

The main places which attracts more tourists:-

Chandela dynasty temple

 Western Group of temple

 Matangeshwar temple includes Lord Shiva and Lord Vishnu

From among the surviving temples, 8 are dedicated to Vishnu and his affinities and 6 are dedicated to Lord Shiva and his consorts, 3 to Jain Tirthanks , 1 to Ganesha, 1 to Sun god.

Related Tours